Skip to content

Cheslie and Mark Say Goodbye: SYTYCD

August 1, 2008

The night begins with a lovely performance choreographed by Mandy Moore.  It was simply lovely.  Afterwards Cat Deeley makes a stunning entrance in a blue disco ball type dress that stops just before her long legs end and made for a breath taking debut for the elimination night.  Several meows awarded to Cat who was also even more silly and adorable than usual, and twenty kudos to her for making a Star Wars reference.  She is truly infectious and one of the best hosts on TV for this kind of genre.

Obviously, the elimination would be bitter sweet regardless of who went home.  I simply had my fingers crossed that Katee or Josh wouldn’t be leaving, the rest of the four wouldn’t have me heart broken either way.  Beginning with the women Katee gets another get out of jail free card and relief washed over me.  I’m sure myself and thousands of other viewers thought this would be the goodbye ceremony for Courtney Galiano, and maybe even she thought it too.  Either way when the news that she was safe and Chelsie Hightower had been eliminated sank in shock and disbelief and then disappointment struck Chelsies porcelin face.  While Courtney celebrated and many of the audience with her, many were obviously shocked Chelsie was going home.  I don’t think America got it wrong here.  Chelsie has been a great and solid performer throughout, but Courtney has grown so much more since the beginning and also has a much more outgoing and fun personality that Chelsie has offered.  What it really boils down to was last week Courtney was in the bottom two and I think her fans went dial crazy to save her.  I think that worked.  I believe the same thing happened with Twitch.

The mens was less shocking for me, and even though I found Mark to have a much stronger night than Twitch performance wise it wasn’t upsetting to see Mark go.   Several weeks back he probably should have, and while he DID rise to the occassion and make an exciting wonderful top six, him leaving is no shock.  I was shocked to see Josh safe right away, and pure and simply relieved.  Next week I’m going to make sure I call over and over again for both Josh and Katee, even if they fall on their faces, which I don’t think will be possible.  Twitch is a great performer with something really unique about his dance, but I don’t think he’s going to win it, or Courtney either.  Unfortunately, for the gracious kind hearted Mark his trip ended with SYTYCD, but I’m sure he’ll undoubtably move on to something else.  I’ve never seen anyone dance like him ever.  If anything he should be a choreographer with his unparelleled creations. 

Predictions for winner?  I think Katee, but Josh may take it as well, but as this season has proved, nothing is set is stone.  Onward to the FINALE next Wednesday.  I’m holding my breath with anticipation.  I hope I don’t pass out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brick House permalink
    August 1, 2008 9:00 am

    I love Ninja, but mostly I love this show. Katee is amazing.

  2. SoYouThinkYouCanDanceFan permalink
    August 1, 2008 12:14 pm

    I was distraught that Chelsie left! She should have won the whole thing. Will leaving last week was sad as well. Who are these people voting for? Katee is great and all, but Chelsie Hightower should have won.

  3. Heather permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:36 pm

    I like Ninja too! I’m rooting for Katee to win as well.

  4. ldhk permalink
    August 2, 2008 11:16 pm

    For two weeks running, you’ve said EXACTLY what I’ve thought – the crazy loss of Will to your thoughts on Josh and Katee this week. I’ve become a fan of SYTYCD only this year, so what previous season did you like the best? Also, do you know where I can get a copy of previous seasons – do they sell dvd sets?

  5. August 4, 2008 11:20 am

    This season has actually been very different from the previous three seasons, but those were excellent as well. I think this has been my favorite season so far, however last season had some of the best choreography with Mia Michaels, Wade Robson, and Shane Sparks. Both Wade and Shane have been missed this year. I really don’t like the lovey dovey hip hop as much as Shanes hard hitting funky stuff. I am unaware of any boxset available, BUT I do know that they do Season 1-3 marathons on MTV on a regular basis, so keep your eyes peeled on that and you may find it. Two days till Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

