Skip to content

Movies To Avoid In 2008

June 25, 2008

2008 is becoming a damper for films.  While 2007 wasn’t a phenomenal year by any stretch of the imagination it was at least consistent in it’s mediocrity and did manage to toss out so pretty impressive work.  What I have seen thus far in ’08 has been dejecting, and at the halfway point of the year I’m hoping the summer blockbuster and winter/fall Oscar quality films will improve the good/terrible ratio.  So far these are the films I would encourage avoiding:

27 Dresses:  While many found this film happy-go-lucky chick flick fun, I found it to be a contradictory dung pile of garbage passed off as a movie.  It was insulting, annoying, and moreso simply not entertaining.  I can comprehend how some could lose their brains temporarily watching it upon first viewing, but in it’s puriest form, it’s an atrocity.

National Treasure 2: Book Of Secrets– More like Book of Boring.  This sequel is an inexcusable addition to a film that was acceptable along the terms of popcorn flick.  Other than the excellent casting National Treasure was a poorly compiled film with some possibly interesting idea’s that never saw the light of day.  I truly feel bad for the actor’s involved.  Unlike 27 Dresses this film at least didn’t make them look bad, they made the film look bad.

Witless Protection:  This one kind of goes without saying and is more or less expected.  However, I expected a bad movie, but maybe with some funny laughable moments.  A movie that embraced it’s campy corniness.  That wasn’t even salvageable.  It was a bloody nightmare.  I will never be the same again.

Meet The Spartans:  *Sigh* I admit to being incredibly predjudiced in the parody category, but there have been a few in the past that have had me rolling like “Robin Hood: Men In Tights”, but I could not stomach most of Meet The Spartans unoriginal jokes and mockery of 300.  It was moderately funny for the first 15 minutes and then drowned in it’s own simplistic mundane existence.  The only redeeming quality I found was Carmen Electra.  Uber hottness.  An occassional laugh was all it offered and Carmen’s undeniable sex appeal.

Day Of The Dead:  Again, another film you wouldn’t expect much from, but what I did expect was cool zombies and funny ways to kill people.  This movie took itself too seriously and incorporated none of the great qualities these genre of horror movies offer audiences.  And the zombies SUCKED.  With today’s technology I had some pretty high expectations for nasty, realistic looking monsters, and what I got looked like something that could have been created out of my own garage.  Boo-hiss-Boo!

These are only a few of the terrible excuses created for film recently.  I’m hoping the next movies I view turn out better in the Suck/Rule ratio.  In the meantime, avoid these by all means!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 5:51 pm

    OUCH! lol, I liked 27 Dresses!

Leave a Reply

